Depression Is A Disease,Not An Excuse

I suffer with depression…it runs in my family. Anyone barking about depression being an excuse or yelling at me to snap out of it…well…I can’t & that’s not a damn excuse. 

Unless you are a doctor trained to treat depression…don’t charge at me like a raging bull. I live in a black & gray world. I’m NOT alright. Depression comes without warning & often lingers. Its NOT sadness…its much more intense…intense enough to promote thoughts of suicide…not that I want to die,but that I don’t want to suffer anymore. 

I can’t snap out of just because someone commands it. Its a disease…I have no control of it. NO,that’s not an excuse…that’s reality. A doctor can prescribe pills to ease the suffering,but there is no cure for depression. 

Its a mental & emotional disease. I’ve had it since I was a child. I had it back when I was in prime physical health,eating healthy foods & working out 5 days a week. It has nothing to do with my diet. THERE IS NO CURE. I’m not on meds. I use prayer & meditation. Yes,my diet is a mess…so is my entire life.

k9

About Brenda Cooper

I've been a student & user of the Laws Of Attraction for over 30 years. I remain poor,a hermit,& abused, I am in my 50s & my husband is in his 60s. I have 2 young adult sons. Blogging is my therapy. My grandest dream is to move to Green Cove Springs Florida,
This entry was posted in blogging, diet, food, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Depression Is A Disease,Not An Excuse

  1. Then you need to change your definition of ‘food’. Good luck with Paul McKenna, it doesn’t teach you how to eat healthily though so you’ll also need to research that. You won’t lose weight with Paul McKenna if you continue to eat burgers and fries and pizza. Paul McKenna teaches you how to eat until you are full and not over eat.. If you eat until you feel full of junk food that’s going to be a whole lot of calories when compared to the number of calories you’d be having if you ate until you were full of, say, steamed rice and veggies… His system is basically CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy), which CAN work for obesity if you commit yourself to change 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ll also point out there’s no invisible hand forcing junk into your mouth, depression doesn’t force your poor lifestyle choices, that’s all you! If you want to be depressed, fat and angry at the world for the rest of your life, then go for it but you need to realise that’s a CHOICE you are making, no one is forcing you to be in this state. Depression does not force you to make poor decisions and yes, it’s harder to get out of bed in the morning, it’s harder to motivate yourself to participate in the world but it CAN be done if you stop letting depression rule your life. You need to own your problems, stop blaming depression or your microwave or your son and just accept the fact that YOU did this to your body and only YOU can fix it. My belief now (after this post) is that you have no intention of getting better, you prefer to be a victim and wait for all the ‘poor you’s’ to roll in… Again, that’s your CHOICE, no one else’s.

    Like

  3. Depression IS a disease and you ARE letting it beat you by using it as an excuse. It IS related to diet. I also suffer with depression, anxiety and suicidal thoughts, but I got help from a doctor who told me the very best cure for depression is a micronutrient rich diet and gentle exercise. I didn’t believe him until I tried it, and yes, it works. I haven’t had a relapse of depression in just over 2 weeks (i would usually have a bad patch every 3-5 days). Think of your brain as a big ball of connections and energy. When you have depression, it’s because some of those connections have broken and the energy in your brain is misfiring all over the place, affecting your mood, your energy levels, everything! To fix that, you need to give your body the things it needs to repair itself and you need to stimulate your body to produce a chemical called serotonin. Serotonin is basically a ‘happy’ hormone that is a reward for your brain for doing something that benefits the body… Yep, you guessed it: the very best way to stimulate serotonin is through exercise. I’m not talking about hitting the gym here, a quick 10 minute walk once a day was proven in a 2006 study by Cambridge university to double serotonin levels in the brain for up to 48 hours. As for your diet: being thin and fit doesn’t mean your diet was good. You’ve told me before you don’t like vegetables, so if you weren’t eating 60% of your calories through green veggies and lean protein, your diet still wasn’t healthy even if it was lower calorie. You need to take ownership of your problems and commit to correcting them, not moping about saying ‘well depression is a disease… I can’t cure it’. There IS a cure for depression, about 30 in fact! Some are medicinal, some are behavioural (cognitive behavioural therapy or CBT) and some are life style changes. I’ve had CBT, I’ve also been highly medicated and BOTH helped with my depression, I relapsed when I stopped going to the sessions and when I refused to reduce my medication.. Now I’m trying a lifestyle change and guess what? THAT WORKS TOO. Depression is not a choice, but allowing depression to ruin your life IS a choice. Choose differently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

